

HAJIM SCHOOL OF ENGINEERING & APPLIED SCIENCES UNIVERSITY of ROCHESTER

BIOMEDICAL ENGINEERING DEPARTMENT Graduation Ceremony

May 17, 2025

BME Graduation Ceremony Program

MAY 17, 2025 | 9:00 AM STRONG AUDITORIUM

PROCESSIONAL

Trumpet Voluntary, Jeremiah Clarke

WELCOME FROM THE BME DEPARTMENT CHAIR

Professor Stephen McAleavey

CONGRATULATIONS FROM THE DEAN

Associate Dean Paul Funkenbusch, Education and New Initiatives Hajim School of Engineering & Applied Sciences

VIDEO ADDRESS

Edmund A. Hajim Chairman Emeritus, UR Board of Trustees Chairman, HighVista Strategies LLC

BME GRADUATE STUDIES

Professor Mark Buckley

PRESENTATION OF THE MASTER'S CANDIDATES

Professor Diane Dalecki



This ceremony will be livestreamed so that friends and family may join in virtually. <u>tinyurl.com/urbme-grad</u>

CENTER FOR MEDICAL TECHNOLOGY & INNOVATION (CMTI)

Professor Greg Gdowski

PRESENTATION OF THE CMTI MASTER'S CANDIDATES

Professor Amy Lerner

BME UNDERGRADUATE STUDIES

Professor Edward Brown

PRESENTATION OF THE BACHELOR'S CANDIDATES

Professor Scott Seidman

CLOSING REMARKS

Professor Stephen McAleavey

RECESSIONAL

Second Suite in F – Gustav Holst English Folk Song Suite – Ralph Vaughn Williams

After the ceremony, students and their guests, along with faculty and staff, are invited to the Hajim Quad Tent for refreshments. BME Senior Design and CMTI design project posters will be on display throughout the morning on the 2nd floor of Goergen Hall.

2025 Undergraduate Award Recipients

HAJIM SCHOOL OF ENGINEERING & APPLIED SCIENCES & COLLEGE PRIZE WINNERS, 2024-2025

CHARLES L. NEWTON PRIZE Allie Jay Hui Tay, Devin Wong

DONALD M. BARNARD PRIZE Megan Bell, Anakin de la Cruz Flecha, Yunqi Liu, Yash Waikar

TAU BETA PI PRIZE Megan Bell

NATIONAL ACADEMY OF ENGINEERING GRAND CHALLENGES SCHOLARS Wenqi Di, Rufaro Gamariel, Yujia Jin, Elizabeth Martin, Manuela Montes de Oca, Hannah Rickert, Allie Jia Hui Tay

BIOMEDICAL ENGINEERING DEPARTMENT AWARDS, 2024-2025

BME FACULTY AWARD FOR UNDERGRADUATE SERVICE Manuela Montes de Oca, Hannah Rickert

BME FACULTY AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN UNDERGRADUATE RESEARCH Sri Lalana Appasani

BME FACULTY AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE AS A TEACHING ASSISTANT Yeidi Yuja Vaquiz

BME OUTSTANDING SENIOR Megan Bell

BME OUTSTANDING JUNIOR Kyra McCracken